Dodgy Zebra’s Debut

Image

“I asked the Zebra, are you black with white stripes?
Or white with black stripes?
And the zebra asked me,
Are you good with bad habits?
Or are you bad with good habits?

Are you neat with some sloppy ways?
Or are you sloppy with some neat ways?
And on and on and on and on and on and on he went.
I’ll never ask a zebra about stripes…again.”

– Shel Silverstein

Hello and welcome to Dodgy Zebra. I am Mary and this is a blog about my adventures into sewing, designing and other creative magic.  I am excited to join the blogosphere of sewing enthusiasts and feel that my little digital footprint is well overdue.  I am very new to blogging so am hoping that I learn as I go.  I also have so much more to learn in sewing and design and hope that through this blog I can ‘meet’ others and learn new skills.

Image

I am starting this blog for a number of reasons but the main ones are:

1. To give back: The online sewing community is one of the most generous groups I have every encountered. They give freely of their ideas, their designs and their time. I am humbled by the beautiful projects, insightful tutorials and genius designs that I’ve come across through blogs and postings. I hope that through this blog I too can give a little back to this community.

2. To keep track: It’s amazing how we can sweat blood over a project and it occupies our every thought and then when it’s over the memory quickly fades as we tackle the next challenge. I’m hoping that by blogging about my projects I can track some of my projects and keep a bit of a running commentary on resources, ideas, problems encountered and projects completed.Image

3. Accountability: I’m an avid cyclist and I know only too well that if you don’t have a training partner to meet early in the morning for that gruelling ride, the incentive to stay tucked up in bed is overwhelming.  I think with sewing it’s similar – if there’s no accountability or push to get a project finished, it can very easily get relegated to ‘that bottom drawer’ and forgotten about.Image

4. To learn: There is still a world out there for me to learn – techniques, designs, fabrics, blogging and web identity… By joining a group of supportive and enthusiastic sewists (is that the correct term?) and pushing myself to try new things, I aim to become a better seamstress and (hopefully) designer and pattern maker.

5. To have fun and feel inspired:  That’s what it’s all about right? To create something and share your creation with the world.Image

Thanks for visiting, it’s great to have some company.  I’d love to hear your thoughts or comments as I feel my way around.

8 thoughts on “Dodgy Zebra’s Debut

  1. So, I got a sewing machine for Christmas . . .now I need to explore the pattern books and see if I can make something that actually fits me and looks good . . . sure wish I we could explore the fabric stores together. Alice and I made 14 princess dresses for our trip to Disney — our very adorable Cinderella, fairies, Snow White, Jasmine, Rapunzel and Merida were the hit of the days. Love the new site and the name dodgyzebra. Take care 🙂 Judy

    • Hi Judy,
      What great news that you got a sewing machine for Christmas. I would also love to go fabric hunting together. One day…
      That’s incredible that you made 14 princess dresses! For 14 little girls or a different princess each day?
      Much love,
      Mary

    • Yay!! So great to have another Dodgy Zebra on my blog 🙂 Did you see the shout out on my About page? Love you ladies and excited that you’re joining in on the adventure. xxxx

  2. Well done my darling daughter –
    how DID I get a sewing daughter – must have been the effect of that yellow and white checked dress- the only one I ever made for you…

Leave a Reply

