Me-Made-May: Perseverance

I’m still holding true to the challenge I set myself to wear at least one self-made item for each day this month.  It has been a fun and thought-provoking exercise and has made me reassess my wardrobe, my ideas for new projects and some of my lesser worn items.  I must admit though I am getting a little tired of taking a photo of my outfit each day…it makes me feel rather self conscious.  Nevertheless, here we go:

Thursday 15 May: Purple Rose tie top

Love this one (although this photo doesn’t really do it justice).  I’ve blogged about it here

MMM_15 May Purple rose

Friday 16 May: Pleated Birds top

Simplicity 2029 made with lovely printed cotton from Tessuti. Cute top but not particularly flattering I don’t think.

MMM_16 May birdsSaturday 17 May: Blue every day cowl top

A self-made pattern based off of some tutorials.  The fabric is a wool knit (I think it’s wool) remnant from Tessuti.  A great all-rounder top. Check out the boots 🙂

MMM_17 May blue cowlSunday 18 May: Simple Summer Tie Dress

Just blogged about this one.  Thank you, weather, for being unexpectedly warm so I could wear it 🙂

MMM_18 May summer dressMonday 19 May: Spots and Stripes Charlie

This is a self-made pattern (one of my first) that was originally made for the Tessuti awards back in 2012 but since then it has needed a few fitting tweaks.  It has taken me until now to get that done!  So, thanks to MMM I now have this dress in my closet rather than ‘THAT bottom drawer’.

MMM_19 May spots and stripes charlieTuesday 20 May: The Farm Girl Shirt Dress

The picture didn’t come out well at all but this dress is a pretty casual number that I’ve mentioned before.

MMM_20May Farm girlWednesday 21 May: Grey Wool Pencil skirt

A very early project (can’t remember the pattern).  Lovely grey wool and fully lined.  Great little skirt.

MMM_21May Grey pencilPhew…that was a big one!  That’s all for now. I’m running low on self-made items so this next week might be getting creative.  I wonder what work will think if I arrive in a red sequined dress!

5 thoughts on “Me-Made-May: Perseverance

  1. Looking forward to seeing what you wear for the last week of May 🙂 Can’t believe it’s that time already (though I won’t miss taking daily photos either!) Your pleated bird top is fabulous!

    • Thanks – this last week is seriously slim pickings! I’m going to have to get creative…or wear repeats. And yes – I definitely won’t miss the daily photograph :-). Glad you like the pleated bird top – it is a cute on but I feel like it just doesn’t do much for me. Maybe I should wear it with a belt…

  2. Pingback: Textured Play Mat | Dodgy Zebra

Leave a Reply

