Me-Made-May: The Grand Finale

I made it!!  I made it all the way through May wearing at least one Me-Made item every day.  And I didn’t even have to double up on items – I did wear the same thing more than once but on those occassions I also wore a unique item.  I also didn’t have to resort to wearing the quilt on our bed…although I did come close :-).  It has been a fun and interesting experience and has certainly made me wear some of my lesser worn items and rethink others.  I have also realised that I need to make some more trousers and long sleeve shirts because my winter Me-Made wardrobe is somewhat limited.  Thank you weather gods for an unseasonably warm May!

So here goes for my final installment for Me-Made-May ’14:

Thursday 22 May: The Red Rose Dress

This was one of my first dresses and I loved the pattern so much that I made all four of my bridesmaid’s dresses out of the same pattern.  I unfortunately don’t have the pattern with me but I believe it’s a Simplicity pattern and it’s really great – If anyone knows the number, please let me know.  The dress is made with a lovely cotton twill of red and black roses and red lining in the bodice. The belt is just two ribbons sewn together. I wore it to a friend’s book launch this week!

MMM_22 May red roseFriday 23 May: The Green Dress

Blogged about here. Worn to a ladies night out on the town.

MMM_23 May green dressSaturday 24 May: Aqua Twist Tie Top

Made in the nick of time and blogged about here.

MMM_24 May twist topSunday 25th May: Hubby Dress Shirt

Yes, yes, ok, I cheated here.  I had to call in some reinforcements and convinced Dear Husband to play along with MMM by wearing the first shirt I made for him.  It’s not perfect but still like it…especially the contrasting collar stand and cuffs.

MMM_25 May mens shirt Monday 26th May: Grey Neck Tie Dress

Made from the same pattern as the Green Bamboo Shift Dress (New Look 6968) with a neck tie variation and capped sleeves.  A great little work dress.  Next time I’ll have to drop the waist a few centimetres.

MMM_26 May necktie dressTuesday 27th May: The Brown Owl Apron

A self-drafted apron pattern for being in the kitchen.  The neck loop is a little too small  – might need to add some length or make it stretchy…  I love the brown owl and apple printed cotton (a good heavier weight for keeping out the spills).

MMM_27 May owl apronWednesday 28th May: The Lovely Brown Trousers

My first (and only so far) trousers made back in ancient sewing history in 2011 when I was taking my first sewing class. There are a few spots of bother but on the whole they are great and I am in love with the pocket detail.  Amazing what a bit of piping and contrast fabric can do :-).  Now if I could only find this pattern I would make them again…

MMM_28 May pantsThursday 29th May: The Gardening Shirt

My work horse Gardening shirt getting put through her paces during upholstery course.  And Edith photobombing!

MMM_29 May Farm shirtFriday 30th May: Red Sparkly Flapper

My red sequined dress inspired by 1920s flapper dresses and originally made for a friend’s wedding.  On this day I wore it to a Friday evening work drinks – Yes VERY overdressed!  But I figured it was the Grand Finale to Me-Made-May so why not?!  (sorry about photo quality)MMM_30 May sparklesSaturday 31st May: Moo PJ pants

Last but not least comfy cotton Moo-cow pajama pants made from a self drafted pattern off an old pair.  Next time I need to add a bit more length in the rise because I feel they sit a little too low.  But super comfy and a good way to end Me-Made-May.  It’s been great.  Thanks for joining.

MMM_31 May Moo PJGood night all 🙂

 

 

 

8 thoughts on “Me-Made-May: The Grand Finale

    • Thanks Gail – it’s an oldie but a goodie. Might have to try make it again 🙂
      I am terrible about keeping up with blog reading. I try but somehow I’m frantically trying to keep up with everything else – work, life, sewing etc!

  1. Pingback: The MC pants | Dodgy Zebra

  2. Pingback: Textured Play Mat | Dodgy Zebra

Leave a Reply

