Stretchy sewing: Stretch block toile becomes wearable

I finally finished off my stretch block toile into a long sleeve T-shirt.  This has been sitting on my to-do list forever so I’m glad I’ve finally managed to get it done.  I scooped out the neck a bit and finished off the neckline with an open binding – if I can call it that.

Image

The sleeves and hem are finished with a zig zag hem.  I contemplated trying a double needle finish but haven’t quite figured out how my machine deals with two cotton reels (I think I’m missing the detachable spindle). Also I didn’t have a matching pink thread.  (excuses…excuses…)

Image

It’s a good little winter wardrobe number.  Although next time i think I would make it a bit tighter – there seems to be quite a bit of extra fabric under the arms.

I’m still experimenting with finishing off necklines, hems etc in knit fabric.  Do you have a favourite method that works like a charm?  I’d love to hear about it.

Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

