A Sorbetto Top for Mom

Sorbetto mom2

Earlier this year when I was visiting my mom, I was itching to sew so I raided her (very meagre) fabric stash.  I found a skirt that she had bought because she liked the fabric but it had been folded up too long in the store and had ripped along a fold line on the first wear.  She had been saving in the hopes of fixing it.  But I took one look at it and said “No, way!  It wants to be a top.”  I printed off Colette’s Sorbetto pattern and away I went.

I cut a size that matched my mom’s bust measurements and added a bit of length as I had found mine too short and sewed it up. I had just enough fabric to get it in.  I left in a bit of a hurry so I left my mom with the job of hemming it – but she did a stellar job and look at the great result! I’m pretty chuffed with the repurposing of a skirt that was destined for the bin.  Now she just needs some warm weather so she can wear it.

Pattern: Sorbetto by Colete Patterns

Fabric: Repurposed skirt made of a lightweight floral polyester blend

Alterations: Added some length to the top

Do it again?: I think there’s always room for another Sorbetto…when summer comes around again

 

4 thoughts on “A Sorbetto Top for Mom

  1. Thank you! It feels like such a win when you get to turn a broken thing into a glorious ‘new’ thing :-). The Sorbetto is great and definitely worth a try…although a bit cold for Sydney right now! My mom and I have particularly long bodies – hence the lengthening required. But it’s worth checking to see if you like the length before cutting your fabric.

Leave a Reply

