Zippered Box Bag

As part of my Craftsy Beginner Serger class, I made this zippered box bag.  It was a great little project and helped to put to use some of the overlocking techniques we learned in the class.

DSCN2650The step-by-step tutorial was very informative and helpful and the final product is a fun little bag.  I’m using it to store different thread.  It opens up nicely so you can see everything but it holds its shape which is great.

The pattern calls for fusable fleece but I couldn’t find any of that (or I was looking in the wrong place) so I used batting and normal fusable interfacing.  It probably didn’t work as well as a fusable fleece but it did the job.

DSCN2651The outer fabric is a scrap of Ikea heavy weight cotton that I had left over from some placemats I was making for a gift.  The lining is a green polka dotted cotton.  Add a zip (extra long because you end up cutting off both ends), and you’re made!

DSCN2653On the inside you can catch a glimpse of my ‘mad’ new serging skills.

This was a fun little project and certainly a pattern to keep in mind for gifts and stash busting.

Leave a Reply

