Magenta Yoga Pants

Rainy winter weekend days are perfect for mooching around home in yoga pants.  And what better way to brighten things up than by making them in magenta?!

DSCN2638I made these as part of the Craftsy class Sewing with Knits by Meg McElwee of Sew Liberated.  It is a fabulous class and Meg is a very enthusiastic and practical teacher with lots of tips and tricks. The class comes with some very useful patterns and step-by-step tutorials taking you through the process of putting the garment together.

DSCN2637DSCN2636These yoga pants feature a fold over waist band and hidden pockets that are stabilised with clear elastic (thanks, Judy for the elastic!) to stop them stretching out.  I finished the hem off with a twin needle that worked better than my other attempts.  I think this thicker knit is more obedient to work with.

My only issue with the fit is that I find the seat rise (is that what it’s called…crotch to waist?) too short so the crotch is a bit high for me.  But that is my fault for not checking because I have a rather long body (it looks especially long in the picture below!) and usually have to make some sort of adjustment.  I also think I cut the pants a leeetle too short…but I was thinking that I didn’t want to stand on them in my ‘downward facing dog’.  In all honesty, I think the fabric is a bit too thick for power yoga sessions but they are great for around the house and for visits to the clinic.

One slightly irritating thing about the pattern print out is that the page edges aren’t always clear so there’s a bit of guess work as to how they line up.  That might be an issue with me printing US pdfs onto A4 (no scaling obviously).  Has anyone else made this pattern and found this?

yoga pants frontMeg is a great believer of foregoing the overlocker and sewing all your knits using just your sewing machine.  She has a bunch of great techniques (like using a walking foot and picking the right stitch) to get the best out of what your sewing machine can offer.

But since The Old Babe and I are best buddies now, I of course had to use the overlocker…and I LOVED it :-).  I used the overlocker for all the seams and just used the machine to finish off the hem.

yoga pants backIt was a fun pattern and a great comfy winter piece.

Pattern: Meg McElwee’s yoga pants from the Sewing with Knits Craftsy class

Fabric: Magenta cotton knit – almost a sweatshirt weight

Alterations: None but next time I should add at least 2cm into the seat rise

Do it again: Maybe the shorts version for summer?

 

Leave a Reply

