Summer tunic: New Look 6076

The garden shirt that I made years ago became such a summer staple that I wore it to shreds and needed a replacement. I have also, over the years, increasingly appreciated the value of longsleeve summer tops to protect your arms from the harsh sun.

My second attempt at the New Look 6076 tunic started a looooong time ago. I had beautiful lightweight printed cotton in greens and purples that was perfect. For the contrast placket, I originally chose a lime green satin but this is where the trouble began. In trying to press the placket in place, I melted the satin into a big mess and gave up on the whole project in a huff. It wasn’t until years later (literally), that I unearthed the project and tried again – this time with a teal cotton that worked much better and behaved during ironing.

For this version, I went with the three-quarter length sleeves and the tunic length. I like that I can wear it as a shirt or tunic and I’ve already enjoyed summer days wearing this creation.

I can wear the tunic tucked into shorts for a shirt-like look. The three-quarter sleeves are great sun protection.
The pattern is a fairly classic old-school design. I didn’t add the fake pockets but I included the cuffs in the contrast fabric
Worn as a tunic over skinny jeans or leggings gives a completely different look.
It’s also great to throw over a swimming costume after a swim at the beach

Fabric: Lightweight printed cotton in funky purples and greens; contrast teal cotton after a failed attempt with lime green satin.

Pattern: New Look 6076

Alterations: The only change was I didn’t put the fake pockets on.

Do it again? This version is already showing some wear and tear from a few summers of use, so if I find nice summery lightweight cotton again, I may need to make a replacement. Next time I light broaden the shoulders slightly as that is where it is pulling.

3 thoughts on “Summer tunic: New Look 6076

Leave a comment