Kimono Style dressing gown

I found this cotton at Ikea and with it’s Japanese style print and dual tone colour scheme it was just crying out to be a Kimono Style dressing gown.  So that’s what I did.

IMG_6440

For the pattern I took guidance from Erin’s knit robe for bridal shower presents.  I also looked at To Be Continued and another one that I can’t find now! In the end the pattern was a combination of multiple patterns plus looking at my own winter dressing gown.

IMG_6442_cropped

The whole thing came together pretty quickly (yay for overlocker on most of the seams!) and I like how the contrast fabric works with the colar band.  The sleeves are pretty wide but it sort of goes with the Kimono-esque design.

IMG_6441I also added slits up the side for ease of walking. I’m hoping to get lots of wear out of it this summer.

I am pretty happy with how it came out.  The one thing that is a little disappointing is that the fabric is quite stiff and I was hoping for a softer cotton feel.  Hopefully after a few washes it will be better.

Any thoughts on how to make cotton more supple and soft?

Pattern: A combination of a bunch of online tutorials

Fabric: Fish and Fan printed cotton from Ikea

Alterations: First version of my own patter

Do it again: Maybe…but I’m not sure how many gowns a girl can have!  Next time definitely pick a really soft fabric

2 thoughts on “Kimono Style dressing gown

Leave a comment