Me-Made-May 2024: Week one

Me-Made-May is off to a good start and already I’m learning lots, not only about the pieces I’ve made, but also things like: May in the southern hemisphere can be a cold time to commit to wearing self-made items when I prefer making summer things!

Day 2: Summery shift dress

Like: I love the cotton fabric and how it feels. The print is fun and happy. I like the shape the princess darts create.

Don’t like: There isn’t much I don’t like about this dress. The slit at the back is a bit high but still workable.

Day 3: Fancy Hawaiian shirt

I realise that I didn’t ever blog about this one. It was made while on holiday in Maui many many years ago. The fabric is a beautiful floral print from Liberty…I think.

Like: I love the soft cotton in the bright floral print. It makes me smile. The two shaping darts in the front are very flattering and the shape of the collar works quite well.

Don’t like: When I completed this shirt as per the exact instructions, I was very irritated to realise that I was told to make the button holes horizontal, not vertical, and too far away from the edge. This just annoys me and taught me the lesson that sometimes my judgement is better than the pattern instructions. Although I thought I’d like the simplicity of the collar that is part of the shirt front pieces and no button stand, I think I actually prefer separate pieces for those elements.

I made this one for a New Year’s Eve party years ago and while it’s a fun outfit to wear, it seldom gets its time in the limelight. An impromptu ‘Fancy Family Friday night dinner’ was a great opportunity to pull it out.

Like: It’s a fun style with a very dramatic back. The beads are a great element that are perfect for shaking on the dance floor.

Don’t like: I don’t love the base fabric and for some reason I made the lining way too short so it rides up. It’s not a dress you can sit down for long in because of the beads and choosing the right underwear makes it a difficult dress to wear regularly.

Day 4: Ziggi Jacket

Like: I LOVE ZIGGI!

Day 4 outfit 2: Sirrocco jumpsuit in green

This one is hot off the sewing table so I haven’t blogged about it and the fun and games in the making thereof. That will come. For now I’ll just speak to the wearing part.

Like: I love the colour and the soft comfortable feel of the cotton knit. The shape is great and I feel good wearing it. I like that it has no closures.

Don’t like: Given that there are no closures, I have to be very careful I don’t damage the waist seams when I put it on and take it off. Otherwise no real complaints from wearing it.

Day 5: Pink longsleeve t-shirt

Like: It’s comfortable. A great Sunday-around-the-house top. Bright pink is fun.

Don’t like: I made it pre-overlocker days so it’s not particularly well made and is falling apart in places. The neckline finishing was an experiment and I waver between loving it and hating it.

Leave a comment